A Superior Saturday at Superior Merchandise Co {Review}

I like simple signage.

I like simple signage.

Yep, I promised this review oooh a week ago. But, yup you guessed it, baby (we also had our niece here last week). Anyway two weeks ago now we headed out to Troy to try out the coffee/tea/beer at Superior Merchandise Company. It was also a nice way for the hubs and I to still be cool and do cool things with a baby in tow.

So there we were at this really hip looking shop/coffee/tea/wine/beer bar feeling really out of place at first. I mean most folks there were either chatting with friends, working on college projects, or on a date. There we were with a baby in a carseat and a huge ass diaper bag. We stuck out like a sore thumb.

Yum!

Yum!

But we headed for the bar to place our drink orders. I wanted to try their coffee iced as I’d heard/seen a lot about it from friends and by following them on instagram. I wanted something iced and the barista suggested their POUROVER: Parlor Coffee – Burundi Ninga Peaberry. I was feeling adventurous and went for it. The mister opted for one of their beers on draft. They were good enough to let him sample both before making his choice – Jack’s Abby Hoponius Union (I think that’s what he got, I really should keep notes). I personally liked both of their drafts (I had a sip and wow do I miss non-gluten free beer! We took our drinks to their back patio so as not to bother the other patrons at the bar/seating area.

I really enjoyed the coffee. Really smooth and rich. Perfect iced, I’ll have to go back to try it hot. Note to self ask them next time if they have soy milk or suggest they get some. Once my coffee was gone, which didn’t take long, I bounced back in to order a tea. Might as well try both right? This time I went with the Rose Black Tea. Which was a loose tea (thankfully), while tasty tea with rose notes are not my favorite. Hey at least I tried it.

They also have snacks to go along with your beverage which include: croissants, cookies, and scones. But they are looking to expand their menu and to accommodate those with dietary restrictions like gluten free and vegan folks! While I was waiting on my tea I poked around the rest of the shop and snapped some photos (with permission of course):

Various merch items for sale.

Various merch items for sale.

I really like the clean and simple displays.

I really like the clean and simple displays.

Part of the bar area. The sign is very cool, my phone not so much when it comes to photos.

Part of the bar area. The sign is very cool, my phone not so much when it comes to photos.

If you happen to be in Troy I suggest checking them out. We enjoyed ourselves and will be back for sure!

