darjeeling puttabong summer {Review @AdagioTeas

I was contacted by Adagio Teas last week to ask if I would be interested in reviewing some of their teas. Though they do things a little differently at Adagio, they would give me credit to select the teas I wished to review! Perfect right? Wrong, there are so many teas to choose from. In fact I’ve been a customer for years, but I’ve usually stuck to their fandom blends (which are created by, you guessed it fans).

Tea time.

Tea time.

While I could have gone wild in the fandom section I opted to select form their straight teas…not an easy task, in case you were wondering. First up was darjeeling puttabong summer.

In the past I’ve had problems with darjeeling teas going super bitter, super quick. That being said I was willing to give this a go and see if I could prep it properly…as I was sure the fault with the past teas was my own and not with the tea itself.

 

Just look at those tea leaves!

Just look at those tea leaves!

So I found myself with some time to try this while the little took his morning nap. At first sniff the tea smells very malty, earthy scent to it, with a hint of sweetness. I love the varying color of the tea leaves. The leaves are very soft and super fragrant. Once I had the leaves out of the bag I smelled more sweetness like grapes. Needless to say I was very excited to get this steeping!

Once the leaves were steeping away I still only got the malt I had smelled with the dry leaves and none of the fruit smell I had before I steeped the tea. Which I’ll admit had me a little down. But I had hopes that when I tasted the tea it would be a whole different story. My first concern was to not oversteep the tea. The last thing I wanted was a bitter tea. I’ve never watched a clock more in my life!

Look at that lovely color!

Look at that lovely color!

I took my first sip and I wasn’t sure what to think beyond ‘It’s hot’. So I let it cool off a bit to give it a proper tasting for this review. After a few minutes I tried again and found I had a delicious cup of tea AND the fruitiness I had smelled in the dry leaves was back on the finish of the tea. I loved this as in the past with darjeeling teas I usually only had a bitter taste in my mouth. Not good.

Half way through my cup I added some soy vanilla creamer. (I like to try my teas straight and with creamer if possible) Let me tell you the creamer gave the tea a little boost of all the flavors which was a little weird with the grape flavor. Lesson learned no flavored creamer for this one! All in all this tea is one I actually enjoyed which was weird for me with a darjeeling. I’m looking forward to trying this one iced as I think it could be really yummy iced.

I think my only thing I wish was different about Adagio Teas would be their packaging. I understand that the functionality of to is easy for shipping and in their brick and mortar shops. But I just wish it was a little more “fun”. That one little thing aside I really enjoyed this tea and may have to add it to my regular rotation.

If you’d like to try this one out check out their website above.

