Summer Sol Ambrosia Black {@NelsonsTea}

I like the different colors on their packaging.

I like the different colors on their packaging.

I know it’s been a while since I received the teas from Nelson’s but with a baby in the house, not every morning can be for tea. No sometimes coffee is called for. But last night someone was having a party in their crib from 2am-3:30am and sadly I was invited. While I could have reached for the ease of coffee from the Keurig I chose to try this one instead. Added bonus the little was down for a nap.

The dry leaves smelled super fruity. though I’ll admit I couldn’t put my finger on what the fruit was, but I suspected strawberries, grapes, and maybe cherries a bit like the ambrosia salad my Aunt makes for most every gathering (minus the coconut). I tried it hot first because I didn’t have the time to waste adding extra steps to make it iced. Which was a good call on my part as my little guy woke up just as my tea was ready!

IMG_1668Once steeped I smelled more of the what I’m 85% sure is (white?) grape and strawberry. The taste? It’s hard to say what it tastes like. I’ll say that it doesn’t taste bad, but I can’t tell you more than it tastes fruity. Mostly due to the fact that I can’t put my finger on what fruits it actually tastes like.

But I did finish the cup, as I said it wasn’t bad, I just can’t put a finger on what fruit flavor I’m getting in the cup. Which will probably bother me the rest of the day. If you know me you know this to be true! Perhaps I should have added some of the vanilla soy creamer to see if that helped to narrow down the fruit flavor. But I didn’t, instead I poured the rest of the loose leaf I had from the sample into my Ice Tea maker and popped it in the fridge overnight.

Flash forward to this morning (smalls is asleep) and the iced tea is ready! The weird thing is the color looks like a green tea when I poured a glass (my phone is in the baby’s room and I’m not risking waking him up to get it). But I’ll tell you this it has a Fruit Loops/Fruity Pebbles taste to it when cold brewed. Which takes me back to Saturday Morning Cartoons. So maybe there’s some blueberry mixed in with the strawberry and grape I tasted before?

Either way I liked it. But I don’t think I’d keep this one in the house on a regular basis ONLY because I can’t nail down what I’m tasting. Yes, I’m weird like that I know. If you’d like to try it out have a look at their website or you can also purchase from amazon.com.

