rwanda rukeri {@AdagioTeas review}

Fun fact this is take two of this tea picture because well the measuring spoon flipped out of the bag with a spoonful of tea on it...into the only water left on the counter...

Fun fact this is take two of this tea picture because well the measuring spoon flipped out of the bag with a spoonful of tea on it…into the only water left on the counter…

My week got away from me, as it usually does these days, but here I am with another tea review! This time I’m trying Adagio Teas rwanda rukeri. As a reminder this was one of the teas I selected for review from Adagio because frankly it sounded pretty different/awesome.

In celebration of a certain someone getting back on their not up ever hour during the night schedule I chose to make myself this. The dry leaves smell very earthy to me with a hint of fruit. But I’m not getting the scent of biscuits that I read in their description of this tea. Hey ever nose is different, right? Right! So I measured out a spoonful and added it to my mug and set the water for 212 degrees and waited. Which meant making some cinnamon raisin toast (pro tip it helps to turn the toaster oven ON), and grabbing my notebook and laptop to write this review.

Just look at those leaves!

Just look at those leaves!

Once the water was ready I went through the usual motions and set a timer for 4 minutes and let this bad boy steep. The suggested steep time is 3-5 minutes so I typically go for the middle marker on time. While waiting I dug into my toast and sorted out the photos I wanted to use for this post. Oh and wrangled a baby into his high chair and got his eats ready for dad to serve up. I then took a sniff of the steeping tea and there was the fruit again and the delicious smell of malty goodness that I’ve come to expect from a tasty Assam. But how would it taste?

Mmmm.

Mmmm.

While it reminds me of an Assam tea, there’s something else… Something a little rough around the edges if you will. It’s not bad either, just different. It’s certainly strong that’s for sure! Let’s put it this way. I’d bring this tea to a fight, because it’s sure to have my back!

 

